Reflections – Three

More rain today.  Grey and green colors outside the window.

My father’s passing was in 1983.  I often felt him near as I helped with my mother’s care.  Her passing was in 2004.  Sometimes I wonder where the last ten years have gone.  At the time, I thought I would not recover.  I was also tired.  It was as if I could hear my mother saying, “Now I want you to take care of yourself.”

Yes, very important for caregivers to take care of themselves too.  Over the years, my mother needed more and more help.  Many people helped, including family and professionals.

One benefit of age is that I’ve learned to make sure I get plenty of rest.  I am much more resilient when rested.  Sometimes it requires discipline to rest.

Lately memories of my parents when they were young are spontaneously occurring to me.

over 60 now
in my mind
a picture of Dad
in the yard
when young

I began with WordPress in December 2009, with Poems From Oostburg, Wisconsin.  Since I post often, I have a nice record of my days since then.  Each month now, I spend time reading old posts, here and there.  I discover poems I had forgotten and think they are okay – or I get an idea for a small revision.  It is also interesting to see how the seasons vary from year-to-year.

He maketh me to lie down in green pastures: he leadeth me beside the still waters.

Psalm 23: 2 (KJV)